Event Planning Committee

Do you have a knack for planning parties? Do you want to learn new skills? Are you a super volunteer? Fairfax Young Democrats need you. We are having a kickoff meeting for our event planning committee on July 6 at the Thomas Jefferson Library (7415 Arlington Blvd, Falls Church, VA 22042). As we branch out into innovative new programming, we need assistance working on the events from inception to implementation. The meeting starts at 7:30 PM. If you can't make the meeting but still want to be involved, email info@fairfaxyoungdems.net with the subject event planning.


Fairfax County School Board Special Election

Fairfax County Democratic Committee has endorsed Karen Keys-Gamarra as their candidate for the August 29 School Board Special Election for the vacant At-Large position. Keys-Gamarra will run a countywide campaign. In the coming weeks, we will be assisting with the campaign to help raise awareness among voters in Fairfax County. For more information about her campaign, click here

UPDATE: To volunteer with the Keys-Gamarra campaign, click here to fill out the volunteer interest form

Karen Keys_Gamarra


2017 Election Results

In a thrilling night with lots of twists and turns, the 2017 Democratic Primary is complete. A record number of Democrats casts votes in Fairfax County for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and House of Delegates seats.  Statewide,  543,000 Democrats voted in the Democratic Primary versus 315,000 Republicans. A clear indication of the energy and enthusiasm within the Democratic community. However, we cannot rest as we will face a strong team determined to mirror national policies and attitudes within our local community. As Fairfax Young Democrats, we need to continue to build connections within our community and make sure young people get out to the polls. Fairfax Young Democrats will be working hard for our Democratic ticket over the summer and into the fall. The election results are listed below: 


Dr. Ralph Northam 

Lieutenant Governor

Justin Fairfax 

Attorney General

Mark Herring


Kathy Tran


Karrie Delaney 


Donte Tanner